Pad Thai Peanut Sauce – 3g net

It’s no secret, I love food! But one dish in particular that I could order over and over again is Pad Thai.

Now that I’m following a low-carb way of eating, going out for a bowl of noodles is no longer in my routine.

So, I thought – how can I make this keto-friendly? I looked up recipes and was surprised to see that most “keto” recipes omit the peanuts! I know peanuts have carbohydrates, as all nuts do, and I know in high quantities, they can kick you out of ketosis. That said, I choose to incorporate them into my daily macros, and you can too with this low-carb sauce!

Pad Thai Sauce

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

ingredients:

1/4 cup Salted Peanuts (blend separately with 1/4 cup water)
1 tbsp Distilled White Vinegar
1 tsp Coconut Aminos
1 tsp Monkfruit
1 tsp Hot Chili Sauce by Sriracha
1/4 tsp Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

1. Blend the peanuts and water first.
2. Add in the remaining ingredients and blend.
3. Mix over noodles (palmini/shirataki/zoodles!) and enjoy!

Nutritional Information per serving:

1g net carbs (6g total)
9g fat
5g protein
112 calories

These are the ingredients I USED. If your peanuts aren’t salted or you already have a favorite chili sauce, just adjust it!

Now, I hate when serving sizes are small portions and I won’t lie, this one is. BUT, I’m going to tell you how to spread it out further.

The first thing you are going to do in order to make the sauce is blend the peanuts with 1/4 cup of water. Then blend in the rest of the ingredients. When your sauce is ready you can poor it over your noodles, but don’t be afraid to use oil. I had avocado on hand, but I bet sesame would work great!

I didn’t use much oil, because I liked the creaminess of the sauce AND it spread perfectly over 1.5 servings of palmini & shrimp that I heated on the stove prior. If you want a bigger meal or a heavier dressed sauce, just have the whole recipe! I try to make things that are low enough in carbs so that I can eat more veggies throughout the day. #ButDoYouBoo!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started